Los Angeles weighs cash incentive in bid to boost voter turnout

FYI:  Do You Know?

The Political Class goes Nuts! Charging you on your Savings Deposits and paying people to vote to get a smidgen of legitimacy.
European banks charging customers interest on their deposits.  ·  Europe’s Central Bank Now Charging Banks To Hold Deposits   http://www.ibtimes.com / europes-central-bank-now… - Jun 5, 2014 … The European Central Bank is now charging its customers, the world’s biggest banks, to hold their money rather than paying them interest,
Coming soon!  ·  Economist: U.S. Banks Preparing to Charge Customers For Deposits …  http://www.infowars.com / economist-u-s-banks-prep / - Jun 6, 2014 … In the week that the European Central Bank cut its deposit rate for … They may try to do so not by explicitly charging a negative interest rate, but …

http://www.economist.com/news/finance-and-economics/21578697-would-charging-banks-leave-funds-central-bank-help-or-hurt   Banks have too much money, to many people saving for their future

Los Angeles weighs cash incentive in bid to boost voter turnout
Published August 17, 2014
The Wall Street Journal  http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2014/08/17/los-angeles-weighs-cash-incentive-in-bid-to-boost-voter-turnout/

Los Angeles Skyline.jpg

Los Angeles, California.AP

Near-perfect weather and an abundance of “I voted” stickers haven’t been enough to lure Los Angeles residents to the polls. Now some city officials are floating another idea: cash.

In a bid to boost turnout, Los Angeles’s Ethics Commission has voted to recommend that the city consider offering cash, which might include a prize as high as $50,000, after fewer than a quarter of registered voters showed up for recent municipal elections.

The three-person panel unanimously voted Thursday to have a committee overseen by City Council President Herb Wesson consider offering the financial incentives.

A mere 23 percent of registered voters showed up for the 2012 mayoral election, down from the 37 percent that turned out in 2001. Even fewer voted in the city-attorney and -controller elections, and turnout was a low as 15 percent for district elections, city officials said.

“I would say our turnout is abysmal, and it’s embarrassing,” Mr. Wesson said.

The idea to boost voter participation involves a “lottery-type structure where there could be prize winners of some sort,” said Mr. Wesson. The lottery would only be allowable in elections that don’t include candidates for federal offices or federal measures.  The proposal is still in its earliest stages, and it was unclear if it might come to fruition or even how the lottery system would be structured.

Photo of District 1 Councilmember Sherri Lightner11/6/12 31,585 (54.96%) votes of Registered (10/31/12)  115,950 or 27% (Before Redist.?)

District 1, Council President Pro Tem Sherri Lightner, Email: sherrilightner@sandiego.gov

Photo of District 6 Councilmember Lorie Zapf6/3/14  13,600  (53.02%)votes of Registered (7/1/14) 82,356 or 16.5%

District 2, Councilmember Lorie Zapf, Email: loriezapf@sandiego.gov

Photo of District 3 Councilmember Todd Gloria6/5/12 24,475 (100%) votes of Registered (10/31/12) 80,742 or 30.3% (Unopposed)

District 3, Council President Todd Gloria, Email: toddgloria@sandiego.gov

Photo of Myrtle Cole6/3/14 6,921 (57%) votes of Registered (7/1/14) 88,581 or 7.8%

District 4, Councilmember Myrtle Cole, Email: myrtlecole@sandiego.gov

Graphic of District 56/5/12 24,869 (100%) votes of Registered (10/31/12) 90,435 or 27.4% (Unopposed)

District 5, Councilmember Mark Kersey, Email: markkersey@sandiego.gov

XXXXX
District 6,  Cate v. Kim Primary 10,270 v 6,880 of about 71,296 or 14.4% and 9.6%

 

Photo of District 7 Councilmember Scott Sherman6/5/12 15,575  ( 50.17) votes of Registered (10/31/14) 77,839 or 20%

District 7, Councilmember Scott Sherman, Email: scottsherman@sandiego.gov

Photo of District 6 Councilmember David Alvarez6/3/14  6,720 (87.92) votes of Registered (10/31/14) 54,601 or 12.3%

District 8, Councilmember David Alvarez. Email: davidalvarez@sandiego.gov

Photo of District 9 Councilmember Marti Emerald6/5/12 10,107 (72.14%) votes of Registered (10/31/12) 57,104 or 17.6%

District 9, Councilmember Marti Emerald, Email: martiemerald@sandiego.gov

Photo of Mayor Kevin L. Faulconer2/11/14 153,491 (52.89%) votes of Registered about 662,172 or 23% (Citywide)
Mayor Kevin Faulconer kevinfaulconer@sandiego.gov
                                                                                               (Searched 7/31/14)
Coming soon!  ·  Economist: U.S. Banks Preparing to Charge Customers For Deposits …  http://www.infowars.com / economist-u-s-banks-prep / - Jun 6, 2014 … In the week that the European Central Bank cut its deposit rate for … They may try to do so not by explicitly charging a negative interest rate, but …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>